Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-03-2017, 04:18   #1
Marine Service Provider

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: FP Orana 2010, Hélia 2013, Catana C 47 2013, Nautitech 46 Fly 2018
Daggerboard catamarans

I have quite a bit of experience sailing in fixed keel cats (mostly FP and Lagoon) but I am rather new to daggerboard cats. I just had a 1.000 nm with an Outremer 51 and about the same with a Catana 47 Carbon infusion.
I learnt that while running or broad reaching they are retracted and leeway is used to yr favor. That's the easy part. My questions are;

-When docking undocking the boards are usually retracted and if there is a side wind in a tiny places, it becomes very difficult to control the boat. Remember daggerboard cats are usually lighter than the rest and tend to move sideway very fast. Do you deploy the daggerboards in such manoeuvres ?
-When beating, the book says that after 8-9 kts of speed both daggerboards should be fully retracted. Is this true ?
-At 100/80 degrees AWA, do you use them ?
-At close hauled, which one do you use , leeward, windward, or both ? I would assume fully pushed down in choppy sea and at lower speeds, and a bit less as you speed up, correct ?
-when motor sailing, with the mainsail up and with bit of wind, if the daggerboards are retracted the A/P has difficulties in keeping the straight course.

I've tried different combinations and didn't see much difference with different configurations. I've just noticed that the tacking and gybing also is much more easier and efficient when performed with the daggerboards down.

I came to the conclusion that unless you are broad reaching, the daggerboards have to be used in some way or other.

Would appreciate any input form fellows that have more experience with these cats..

Cheers

Yeloya