Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Multihull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-07-2016, 12:21   #1

Boat: wharram tiki 26
Cruising cat design evolution.

As a student my studies centered around design.So catamaran aesthetics have always been of interest to me.

Boats are a compromise and this is evident particularly with catamarans I think. Sumptuous accommodations come with weight penalties that affect performance. I feel todays trends seem to be a mish mash of ideas, design by committee if you like.

My interest is what lies ahead? More boxy,top heavy looking craft? Or will we a move to sleeker design as people look for something easier on the eye? Seems to me functionality dictates form.
Can it be done? Schioning comes close imho.
Interested in your thoughts.
salticrak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2016, 13:13   #2

Re: Cruising cat design evolution.

Well I don't own a cat but I have now been on quite a few and sailed on a couple and there is not allot to dislike. The most popular ones such as Lagoons do add more space and weight and loose on the performance side but they know their customers very well and performance is not at the top of the must haves. That aside they sail well enough to get you where you are going in supreme comfort and nothing beats them at anchor which is where most people spend 90% of their time. When you look at the evolution of cats, many started sleek and today something less so I think the design will continue to evolve based on customers needs/wants and thats probably bigger and more goodies. There will always be niche markets for the higher performance machines
robert sailor is offline   Reply With Quote