Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Multihull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-12-2015, 16:50   #1

Boat: Outremer 45/pdq36
Continuous line furling

Even though I motor almost 100% of the time, I have to install 2 continuous line furlers (CLFs) this year and as I have no experience with them I have couple of questions.
My plan was to not have it on a winch and to let it out fast ala Ac 45s but without the capzing . On Pdq 36 the screecher is about 600 sq ft on a harken and on the Outremer 1200 on a profurl top down
I had planned to use harken slippery rings (technical term) as the return as
the line is lazy on one side .
Can I furl without a winch
when I unfurl can I just let it go as long as the feed angles are ok as I plan to furl when gybing
admiralslater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2015, 18:10   #2

Boat: ‘01 Catana 401
Re: Continuous line furling

I can't speak to that size, but on a much smaller unit, we do just as you suggest, when setting the screacher just let her rip!!
It did require attaching a turning block on a bungee at the aft end of the continuous loop though to keep it running fair.

Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
Sailmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2015, 22:05   #3

Boat: Seawind 1000xl
Re: Continuous line furling

Quote:
Originally Posted by admiralslater View Post
Even though I motor almost 100% of the time, I have to install 2 continuous line furlers (CLFs) this year and as I have no experience with them I have couple of questions.