Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Multihull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-04-2014, 11:54   #1

Choosing a Family Cruising Cat on a Budget

Hello,

My family and I have been dreaming about living on a sailboat for a few years now. We now have our house listed for sale and are getting closer to looking at and purchasing our future boat. We have been to the boat show">Miami boat show and have been reading countless blogs, books, and posts here however our actual boating experience is slim to none. Our budget will be around $100,000 and have narrowed our choices to a couple smaller catamarans.

Victory 35
Lagoon 35 CCC
Dean 365

Our thoughts are to start in the Bahamas and if we all like the new lifestyle continue on for a number of years and possibly circumnavigate.

A Little about ourselves..

My wife and I are 33 and have 3 kids, 9 year old boy, 4 year old boy, 6 month old girl. We live in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada where the winters are long, cold and regularly reach -30C hence the boat idea..

As far as our boat choices go we like the living space of the Victory 35, the price and 4 bedrooms of the Dean, and the trampoline/cockpit and twin engines of the Lagoon CCC. I realize the CCC of the lagoon stands for coastal cruising cat but is there any reason it can't go offshore? The dimensions seem similar to other boats that have crossed oceans..

Also any thoughts or opinions on the 3 boats I listed (or any others I missed) would be appreciated, as well as any general comments on our plans.

Thanks in advance!

Ryan
Ryan B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 12:06   #2
smj

Boat: TRT 1200
Re: Choosing a Family Cruising Cat on a Budget