Member Map Go to the Home Page Portal Cruisers & Sailing Forum Cruisers & Sailing Photo Gallery Manage Your Profile! Member Directory Search past discussions! Frequently Asked Questions Community Policies & Posting Rules Register Today, Its FREE!

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Multihull Sailboats





Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-07-2009, 22:00   #1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sidney, B.C, Canada
Boat: want a 40'+ high volume (comfort) economical cruising catamaran
Posts: 16
'Catamaran for Sale' Scam

Under the topic "BEWARE IF IT SOUNDS TO GOOD"

I saw an ad on sailboat.com for a 41' Lagoon for $200,000.
I emailed the seller.
He replied and stated that he was in Indonesia.
I asked for specs and pics.
His name was Ferry Ramos and he said that he received the catamaran as a wedding present from his father who died last year and so he was selling the cat.
He told me that a shipping company call Jurung Express shipped the boat to him.
I contacted the shipping company through a web site he gave me and asked for a quote to ship the same catamaran to Vancouver Island.
$5,500US.
Ferry wanted me to give him a 10% deposit once the shipping bill of lading was aquired.
I asked many question of Ferry about the catamaran and whether there were hotels to stay at when I come down to see it.
He would only answer about 10% of the ??.
I have been looking at a lot of catamaran web sites and pics of catamarans for sale.
Then one day I was looking at the pics that he sent me and started to think that the background buildings at the marina where the cat was supposed to be moored in Sabang Aceh was vaguely familiar.
I went back over all the earmarked listings that I had.
The pics were from a reputable US cat broker.
Ferry had stolen the pics from someone elses web sight and was trying to sell a cat that did not really exist.
I called him on it and he never responded.
I truly believe the shipping company website jurungexpress.com is also his creation.
Still searching...Catman

catman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 22:39   #2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WCVI
Boat: Edel 665 (makes it sound HUGE), and Ericson 32T (when we can).
Posts: 65
Interesting...the scam is on the shipping side. The fraudsters get more inventive every day.
talus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 22:58   #3
Registered User
 
MarkJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Asia - on Sea Life
Boat: Beneteau 393 "Sea Life"
Posts: 3,210
Images: 6
well spotted!
__________________
OurLifeAtSea.com
MarkJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 13:37   #4
Registered User
 
Herbseesmoore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ocala, Fl
Boat: Shopping for the escape
Posts: 100
Images: 7
Yep this ruse has been around awhile, unbeleivable price on a Lagoon 380, listing the location as various places, Ca, DC when contact is made you find out the boat is on a lake in Indonesia.
__________________
Herbster

"I dip and I surge and I swing in the rip of the racing tide."
R Kipling
Herbseesmoore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 14:24   #5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Lakeland, FL
Posts: 956
jurungexpress.com resolves to an IP address (67.228.217.224) that originally comes from an outfit called Softlayer Technologies, a Texas based service provider. Typical whois information for jurungexpress.com is concealed by an outfit called privacyprotect.org.

However, the domain name was only registered on March 19, 2009. The site design seems to be more or less the same as bataviacargo.com and indojavacargo.com.
__________________
"There's nothing . . . absolutely nothing . . . half so much worth doing as simply messing around in boats."

Kenneth Grahame, The Wind in the Willows (River Rat to Mole)
slomotion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 16:05   #6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sidney, B.C, Canada
Boat: want a 40'+ high volume (comfort) economical cruising catamaran
Posts: 16
Thanks, slomotion.
Amazing how you are able to dig that sort of information up on a web site.
That cat sure had my hopes up though.
Cheers
catman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2009, 23:30   #7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Brisbane
Boat: Northwind36 Aquarius1
Posts: 2
This scam (?) looks to have raised its head again. We too responded to an advert, last week, for a Lagoon 410 2003 model, priced unbelievably at US$200,000. Location Kansas but later to be found to be in Indonesia, same story but with a name Daniel Manulang fronting. When we found that the deposit to be sent to a bank account in the name Ferry Ramos, we decide to do some ferreting and came up with this entry. Perhaps we all get scared off and the deal is sound, but when no boat name is given, even though requested, and the HIN does not compute, plus an insistence on a deposit before viewing, it does not seem good. We will look elsewhere!!!
Aquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 07:34   #8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sidney, B.C, Canada
Boat: want a 40'+ high volume (comfort) economical cruising catamaran
Posts: 16
Lagoon 41' scam

Hey Aquarius, looks like we are looking for the same thing.. an affordable well made cruising catamaran.
I just returned from StMartin and Tortola, went there just to be able to actually go on a see what fits me.
We saw the range of Leopards,a 41' Lagoon, a 44' Voyage, 47' Nautitech, and a
36' Jaguar. I can not believe all that the Jaguar had to offer in a 36' length.
I just wonder how well it would preform given its' length and all that standing headroom.
Most of of the catamarans I need are far from my home in Sidney, B.C, Canada.
I guess it is inevitable that we will run into an e-fraud at some point.
I was e-mailing a fellow from France about a 41' Lagoon in Venezuela asking $90,000. It all seemed legit and I think it sold. Apparently the owner suffered a heart attach and wanted to sell the cat off quickly.
Check out the ads for Multihulls World magazine.
Good luck on your search
Catman
catman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 09:50   #9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pickering Ontario
Boat: have to choose, but I like the hunter layout
Posts: 49
If its to good to be TRUE........it usally is
TACK OFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 12:52   #10
Moderator
 
David M's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Francisco Bay
Boat: research vessel
Posts: 5,064
Well, you have to give them credit for being a little more clever than the Nigerians. Was the spelling and grammar decent?
__________________
David

Life begins where land ends.

David M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 18:05   #11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Brisbane
Boat: Northwind36 Aquarius1
Posts: 2
Thanks Catman. The boat offered in Indonesia turns out to be a boat offered for sale in Kingston ON. (at twice the price of course). The Indonesians had stolen not only the photos but the details as well, so the wording appeared to be in good English, until the exchange of emails where the grammar became poor. Anyway all's well that ends well. Cheers . Just hope the next potential buyer reads this string.
Aquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 19:03   #12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Boat: Rhodes Reliant 41ft Blue Stocking
Posts: 358
Catman and Aquarius,

Go ahead and buy the boats. As soon as I confirm the certificate I received today, telling me I won 2,250,000 english pounds on the Euro Soccer lottery, I should be able to lend you the bucks. Yeah!!
__________________
A son of the soil!--uh,-- limestone
Blue Stocking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 19:36   #13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 559
Nicely spotted!! Glad that you were very alert and aware!! Those are the few times that I really appreciate having a legitimate brokerage with excellent reputation involved. I really hate hearing anyone trying to rip off anyone else!! I really hope that they will get theirs in the end...

Happy hunting
shadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Catamaran for sale jean1146 Classified Ads 5 23-02-2009 12:54
Catamaran for Sale?? sundowner Multihull Sailboats 1 10-07-2008 10:25
CATAMARAN FOR SALE fastcat Classified Ads 5 28-07-2007 21:48


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:46.


Other Social Knowledge forum communities:
Cooking Forum - Sailing Forum - Early Retirement - Airstream Trailer - Aquarium Forum - Royal Forum - Book Forum - Volkswagen Touareg Forum - Jeep Wrangler Forum - Whitewater Kayaking & Rafting Forum - Fiberglass RV Forum - RV Forum - Truck Conversion - U2 Music Forum
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© copyright 2002-2009 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.