Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-12-2013, 13:41   #1

Catalac 9M or Prout Quest 33 ?

Hi again. . . like I said, my friend is torn between buying a Catalac 9M or a Prout Quest 33. I have no experience with a Quest 33.

Can any of you make a comment from your experience of each of those boats ?

When I read up on a Quest 33 as compared with my Catalac 9M I personally like having an engine on each of the hulls instead of the one engine which Prouts are "condemned" to have, due to their canoe rear hulls, but that is just my own personal pref.

There are other things abut the Catalac which truly grab me. The feeling of reliability; the acknowledged strength of the hulls etc. As one guy aptly described it: ". . .they are built like a brick sh*thouse. . ." Not very poetic but certainly very true.

Anyway, can you guys give personal comments on the differences, both good and not so good?

Much appreciated. . . and I do NOT want to start a cat war
wambam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2014, 06:05   #2

Re: Catalac 9M or Prout Quest 33 ?

Seriously - I cannot believe there is no one on this site who, from personal experience, can give an honest, comparative appraisal of these two boats.

112 views to date and NO ONE ? Am I missing something here ?
Old 04-01-2014, 06:29   #3
Senior Cruiser

Community Sponsor
Cruisers Forum Supporter

pirate Re: Catalac 9M or Prout Quest 33 ?

Yup... what your missing is this is a primarily American site.. few have seen or sailed let alone owned either of these boats..
Personally I've only sailed Catalacs and think they're just fine.. delivered one to Turkey from the UK and she was tough as old boots.. took a hell of a pounding of Trafalgar and survived.