Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-12-2013, 08:33   #1

Boat: 2011 Lagoon 450F
Balance Catamarans

Another question.. ( I warned you I'd ask alot!!! )

Does anyone have any knowledge/experience, or insight on the "Balance" brand of catamaran's?
scarlet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2013, 11:58   #2
CF Adviser

Location: Wherever our boat is; Playa Zaragoza, Isla Margarita
Boat: 1994 Solaris Sunstream 40
Re: Balance Catamarans

Scarlet, I have no experience with them, but as I recall the 421 was a 10 plus year old design that was 'upgraded' and had production moved to China. Apart from questions about Chinese manufacture, I note a couple of things about the design:

1. They do not list bridgedeck clearance, nor do they show pictures of the same. The overhead sailing photos show a rather disturbed wake and it is worth noting that the transoms are not raised above the water. This suggests to me that the various 'upgrades' to the cockpit have added more weight to the aft end of the boat than was originally intended by its designer.

2. Speaking up 'upgrades' to the cockpit, I question the utility of an exterior galley in a boat which already has a galley-up arrangement. I also question the safety/utility of a fiberglass enclosure for the BBQ. I certainly question the way in which the lines have been led to the cockpit! Rather than being accessible to the helmsperson, the halyards and sheets have all been led aft of the helm position and on the starboard side, into this small exterior galley area. Hardly convenient and, from what I can see, there is no place to store the halyard tails etc. (except perhaps in the little sink?).