Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Multihull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-10-2007, 13:29   #1

Boat: Texas Trimaran Piver 24
Anyone Ever Sail a Piver Nugget Trimaran ?

I am a newbie poster here. I have just taken the plunge and picked up a beater 24 foot trailerable trimaran. It needs lots of work but it has good solid fiberglass amas and main hull.

It is a “Texas Trimaran”. These were built in or near Corpus Cristi Texas in the late 60’s and early 70’s. It is a fiberglass production version of the Piver Nugget. Have any of you ever sailed a Texas Trimaran 24 or a Piver Nugget? I would be very interested to hear about the sailing characteristics of this boat. I am in a little bit of a strange situation in that I will be rebuilding a boat that I have never sailed. It would be very helpful if I knew her strengths and weaknesses. I think my boat was built around 1970. I assume this design has probably been tweaked since then. I believe that the amas are unfolded during the launch. As the boat is launched off of the trailer, the amas are extended by buoyancy. I believe that this is the same procedure on Telstar tris. If anyone has had experience sailing/launching a standard or a modified Piver Nugget or a similar design, please give me your opinion. I'm a bit leary of the locking mechanism also. It seems week. At this point, I have to decide whether to modify the folding mechanism and the beams or to rebuild to the original 1970 design.