Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 02-04-2010, 04:01   #1
JEZ

Advice Appreciated

I am considering buying a 32 year old catamran that still looks in good condition. Could anyone tell me what are the things I need to look out for on such a boat. I have some experience with motor boats but very little to almost no experience on sailing boats. Would appreciate your thoughts and insights into this.

Old 02-04-2010, 04:57   #2

Boat: Jaguar 22 mono called Arfur.
Mine, I think, is also 32 yr old. A GRP Prout and in pretty much original condition.
Everyone will say get a Survey. Do. I can send you a copy of mine if you PM your details. It covers Osmosis, Sea worthyness. General Condition and Faults. It is a static test so it didn't cover the fact the the drive leg was suspect, the headsail furling was not set up right, the headsail sheets didn't track properly as installed, and other bits like that.
There are some very useful old cats around and some real dogs. Go carefully. Good ones cost the same number of quids as the day they left the yard. Good ones will need upgrading in various respects, cables to rudders will be worn, engine and gearbox will be old, standing rigging is suspect, sails will need replacing, sooner or later. Radio's will also be old. But she's a treasure, a hobby and a good sail. Not the fastest in light winds by a long way, but so safe and roomy compared to thin boats. Manouvreing under power is difficult, if yoou're lucky you get a twin prop one that will turn on a sixpence. Tell me more!

Old 02-04-2010, 05:07   #3
JEZ

Thank you for replying Eleven. I will definately get a survey done. yes she is twin prop and the make of the boat is Catalac 9m. Her owner has been working on her and although some work needs to be done to her she still looks quite nice. But there are a lot of things i do not understand about sailing and would need to learn
Old 02-04-2010, 06:57   #4
Freelance Delivery Skipper..

Community Sponsor
Cruisers Forum Supporter