Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-05-2018, 07:07   #16

Boat: Bruce Bingham Christina 49
Re: A new design boom cover - am I missing something ?

MikeM,
Wow very nice and a Frers design also.

Didn't know you were another Great Lakes guy. I grew up in MI, but on the other side closer to Port Huron.
If you do find any boom pics would still love to see your ideas for the "rack". Or if you could generally describe your boom build that would great.

Another rack design we saw in Grenada a couple years ago made of aluminum.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	14517460_340121996339822_7339781852178430774_n.jpg
Views:	412
Size:	57.2 KB
ID:	170037  
Bill O is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2018, 11:59   #17

Boat: 1984 Merit 25

I'm a painting contractor (38 years), and have used this apparatus for all these years. I've been pondering how to use these (two or more sets), as opposed to installing a lazy jack rig (at a much lesser cost. They can be cut to the exact size suitable to stack the bulk size of your sail. If I act on this idea in the next couple of weeks, I'll post pics.

https://www.amazon.com/Louisville-La...SIN=B0000CBILQ

Aarrrgh!
Aaarrgh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2018, 17:30   #18

Boat: Schionning Waterline 1480

This is what I have come up with. It should minimise windage when the sail is down.

The back end should hide the sail in the silhouette of the boom but the forward end will sit well up above and slightly below so I can't remove all the windage.