Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 21-05-2015, 23:24   #1

15'-16' Tender/Dinghy Doable?

First off, please take it easy on a newby to the forum. I'll start off by saying I'm no sailing expert nor claiming to even be a newby to sailing. My wife and I are looking to start getting into the sport/lifestyle.

A little background for my first post. Currently my wife (of 9 years next week) and I are in our mid 30's, love the water and are enjoying our 2nd year living on a land based waterfront home. Boating and fishing is in our blood and everything we do is based around the water. Getting into sailing is next on our list and have plenty to learn.

Our retirement goal would be on the water giving up our (or my) fast pace coorporate job and slowing down to guiding fishing trips (shallow water fly fishing), or building boats and/or furniture, or maybe cruising the Caribbean and maybe the world on a boat.

So instead of buying a house on land and being stuck to one island or one location, which would drive me nuts as I get older, we're looking into living aboard. And of course realize we have our research and time to put into getting to know the risks and cost associated.

This leads me to my number one quest for my perfect live aboard sailboat. Having the capability to carry a 15'-16' Poling Skiff made for fishing shallow water flats. We like all the sailing and living features of a cat sailboat and the main feature I like is the location of storing the tender/dinghy. I'd probably have to make the skiff myself to get the weight down and having a recessed transom tucking in the motor would help keep the length down.

Your thoughts and guidance in what size multi-hull sailboat and brand has room between hulls for a tender/dinghy of the size mentioned above would be greatly appreciated. As for the poling skiff the weight with 40-50hp motor/fuel would be less than 600-700lbs all synthetic composite and probably vacuum infused.

Old 21-05-2015, 23:41   #2