Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-05-2013, 06:43   #1
Marine Service Provider

Boat: Retired Delivery Capt
Send a message via Skype™ to Snore
When is a Hull too Old to Go Offshore?

As I ponder moving to a more offshore oriented boat, I started studying threads about the boats that have gone down during Transatlantic trips this spring. The commonality appears to be age.

One never hears about a newer boat going missing, yes they suffer from knockdowns. But invariably, after the crew abandons their vessel, the boat shows up in fairly good condition.

So the $150,000 question is "How old is too old to go Transatlantic or to the Southern Oceans?"

There are some variables.
    1. Quality of build
    2. Prior use/abuse.
It is assumed that the actual chain plate and rigging are being maintained.

Logically, after "X" loadings of the chain plates, the mounting point will exhibit fatigue. Is it possible to SWAG "X"?

Yes, it is possible to take a home made, 1/8" plywood boat with ribs every 48" Transatlantic IF you don't hit any weather. So posting about someone who took a 1975 wet-rot across the Atlantic only means he was lucky, not that the boat was in good condition.

While I do not hesitate to take my current boat out in small craft warnings that is coastal so a "bailout" point is at worst, a bailout point is 15-20 miles away. Likewise going up and down the Bahamas is relatively safe.

But, I wonder if at some point the age of ANY vessel invites catastrophic failure from a multi-day storm.

I respectfully ask posters to avoid brand bashing.