Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-10-2016, 15:18   #1

Boat: No vessel yet - looking in the 30-40 foot range
What time of year should I plan to sail...

Hey everyone. I am new to sailing and will be taking my first long distance sail sometime next year. Myself, a friend and my dog are planning on sailing to mexico, coast hopping down the Mexican coast, down to costa rica then west to french polynesia. We will be leaving from Vancouver, Canada. What time of year would be the best for me to leave from Vancouver to avoid the biggest possibility of bad weather?
thanx
svasgard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2016, 18:06   #2

Location: La Ciudad de la Misión Didacus de Alcalá en Alta California, Virreinato de Nueva España
Boat: Cal 20
Re: What time of year should I plan to sail...

Check "World Cruising Routes" by Jimmy Cornell

Off the top of my head if you were in SoCal best choice would be March or so. Leaving from PNW that doesn't work the way south is pretty bad that time of year.

From PNW amble you way south to SoCal during the summer then head south from there in Oct. Any earlier and you run a chance of a Hurricane off of Mexico. Nov might be OK.

Check Cornell's book. Some edition will probably be in your library system. New editions just have more routes and minor changes to existing routes so the d editions still are valid.
Adelie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2016, 18:28   #3
Long Range Cruiser

Location: Australian living on "Sea Life" currently in England.
Boat: Beneteau 393 "Sea Life"

Jimmy Cornell is good.
MarkJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2016, 18:50   #4