Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-01-2008, 19:14   #1

pirate What do I really need on a new 42 foot yacht?

Hi this is my first time to the forum so hello.
We are contemplating purchasing a 42 foot yacht to sail from the east coast of Australia around the Pacific for 8 months. Can you help? The brokers advise every gizmo and gadget under the sun but what do you really see as essential? Also has anybody heard anything negative about a Dufour 425? Thanks as it can be very confusing.
anne claydon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2008, 19:51   #2
Long Range Cruiser

Location: Australian living on "Sea Life" currently in England.
Boat: Beneteau 393 "Sea Life"
Beer, hammock and a book. Tell them they keep their expensive optional extras!

Nice looking boat! Saw them at the Sydney Boat show and its looks lurvely!
MarkJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2008, 20:40   #3

Boat: Beneteau FIRST 42
To keep from hauling water out to your boat, and to keep the wife in comfortable showers, you might concider a watermaker.. and to keep the batteries topped off at anchor.. maybe a couple solar panels..
Randyonr3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2008, 21:28   #4
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Hartley Tahitian 45ft. Leisure Lady
Hi Anne. Good on ya, I hope you have a fantastic adventure.