Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-03-2010, 08:06   #1

Boat: 1977 Newport 30 MkII
Tiller or Wheel for Beginner? (32'-36')

That is the question.

I am new to sailing and new to large-boating.

Is one more forgiving than another?

I am eyeing two boats that I am going to see in less than two weeks. Probably buying one of them.

One is a Challenger 32 with a tiller, the other is a Hunter 36 with a wheel.

Both boats seem to suit my purposes, but I am unsure about the steering... what is your opinion?

Thanks!
shibbershabber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 08:08   #2
S&S

Boat: 48' 1963 S&S yawl
A wheel might be more intuitive, but it's really six of one, half a dozen of the other.

There's less to go wrong with a tiller.
S&S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 08:15   #3

Boat: Sold Sigma 33 OOD some time ago, will be chartering in Turkey really soon
Quote:
Originally Posted by S&S View Post
A wheel might be more intuitive, but it's really six of one, half a dozen of the other.
Don't agree with that. I was used to a tiller and still have less feeling with a wheel.
Old 05-03-2010, 08:17   #4
S&S

Boat: 48' 1963 S&S yawl
Quote:
Originally Posted by sigmasailor View Post
Don't agree with that. I was used to a tiller and still have less feeling with a wheel.
But the OP is used to neither.
S&S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 08:22   #5

Boat: Bristol 29