Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-02-2008, 07:37   #1

Teak or not

Hi

I'm new to this froum, so hello everybody.

Would you choose a teak deck on your next boat? What would be best in regards to maintenance and lifetime?

Fedter
Fedter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 07:45   #2

Only IF it's laid down WITHOUT screws. Otherwise they leak and either way they are hot as hell. So, no never. They do look nice or can..

Cape Dory 25D Seraph
rtbates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 08:02   #3

Boat: C&C 27
Personally no. I have never owned a boat with one, but have sailed on many and repaired a few. There may be a fastening method that I am unaware of, but most of the time teak decks require adding hundreds of holes in the deck. The resultant leaks are what I have had to fix along with the rot associated with those leaks. I remember one boat where the teak was installed using screws from the underside of the deck. Once enough wood wore away there were tiny metal points to deal with. Teak has some very good qualities as a deck surface but all deck surfaces will eventually have to be replaced and teak is the hardest to do. In the past I've used treadmaster which is also a trade off. My own boat will be getting a coating of painted on nonskid soon. It will not last as long but it is easier to apply and I prefer the look and weight. Ferenc Mate's book The Finely Fitted Yacht discusses installing teak decks that is worth a read before you attempt to install one yourself. In the end it is a matter of your own dream. If pretty wood makes your sailing more enjoyable, teak decks may be for you. Welcome!
Pura Vida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 08:36   #4

Boat: Beneteau First 42