Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-11-2015, 11:37   #1

Tayana 48 water leak under track

Hi,

My apologies if this is the wrong forum for this - I'm a newbie

I'm on a friends Tayana 48 and it rained really hard down here in Brunswick today and we ended up with a pretty serious leak at the nav station. We believe the culprit is the starboard track for the foresail.

We went to unscrew one of the VERY large stainless screws. When we pulled out the screw we unfortunately found out that the track is bolted but that the bolts are not secured and just dropped away inside the superstructure. Even removing the interior wood laminate covers we can't get to where the track is bolted to the deck. This is a real head scratcher as it is VERY hard to image that the manufacturer would not have anticipated someone removing/replacing the tracks!

I would very much appreciate any thoughts or knowledge about this situation as now we have an even bigger hole (where the bolt went thru) that we can't secure and are afraid to remove any further bolts!!

Peter
Lamb Chops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2015, 13:31   #2

Boat: Taswell 49 Cutter
Re: Tayana 48 water leak under track

Not too many T47/488 owners on this forum, but we looked at a couple of them. Is this a deck salon model with the large coach side windows ?

The staysail track is right above the pair, on each side. I would have thought those window frames/gaskets would leak, before the staysail track attachments. Not too many on this forum would have a need to remove these, I doubt.