Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-05-2010, 13:04   #1

Boat: Jeanneau, Brio 21ft, Bettedavis
Swing Keel Stuck . . . Help, Please !

Hi

I'm afraid Im new to this game and as such am here looking for any advice you are able to offer....my issue, is the swing keel on my jeanaue Brio, 21ft. It has for some reason stuck in the keel and wont drop despite encouragement!!! I just cant find any tech info or similar issues on the threads already posted. Can anybody help.....please?
Dutty999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2010, 14:21   #2

Boat: Belliure Endurance 35
Send a message via Yahoo to DaveC
If the boat is in the water:

Maybe you can loosen the cable a little (only a LITTLE) and swim under it and try to pry on it a little to get it going down? It could be jammed with barnacles or something. Be careful as it could weigh a thousand pounds or more.

The other side of the coin is maybe it's all the way down and the cable is broken so it acts like it won't go down, but in fact it's just the cable that has no weight on it?
DaveC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2010, 01:10   #3
Marine Service Provider

Boat: 37' Oyster Heritage
Try http://jeanneau.tripod.com/ for help.
sestina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2010, 02:09   #4

Boat: Trismus 37
Yes dive over the side and make sure that it is jammed and that the pennant isn't broken. If the pennant is broken and it was wire replace it with Dyneema, much kinder to use.