Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-10-2006, 21:47   #1

Boat: Emu,15 metre ferro
Talking Starting at the bottom

Hi People
this is my first post, Im new to sailing, having just completed my first course - the RYA Comp crew course, and saving for the next one- Day Skipper theory; ie nav & road rules. I have a 2 to 4 year plan - 2 years - sell house and buy a boat - in 4 years go cruising - initially a circumnavigation of Oz and tassie - several years duration at least to raelly get to know our coastline.
now my home port is brissy and the waters of morton bay, Dolphins, dugong, seaturtles and quite good wreck diving, you know just the usual stuff - but fairly shallow, as is a lot of the coast around Oz - now for the Question! It seems that a boat with twin bilge keels and a skeg hung rudder would be ideal in such waters, able to sit high and dry when the tide goes out - But how do they sail????
Audrey
AudreyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2006, 23:22   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
You might be interested in reading:
The Advantages of Twin Keels ~ by Patrick J. Bray
http://www.boatbuilding.com/article....gesoftwinkeels

and the several discussions on the Boat Design Forums
http://www.boatdesign.net/forums/

GordMay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2006, 00:39   #3

AudreyK,Gday,I too am in Brisbane"Ipswich to be exact"I have the same thoughts along the line of Twinies,but unfortunately there are not to many around.Yachthub have 1 for sale in QLD and its a nice yacht.Mudnut.
mudnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2006, 15:18   #4