Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-07-2011, 11:07   #1

Boat: Santana 2023 23.4
Standard vs Tall Rig

New to your site. Thanks for having me! I am fairly new to the boat ownership gig but have crewed for several years. Just bought my first boat in April of this year. It is a Santana 2023C water ballast boat. We mostly sail smaller lakes here in Idaho, but plan on trailering the boat here and there. I also belong to a local sailing association and we have 8-10 regattas per year. Nothing to serious, but I would like to have my boat perform well. So far I have added a traveler, boom vang, and I am getting ready to add an adjustable backstay. It is a fractional rig with a 27 foot mast, 9 foot boom. The boat came with an optional 30 foot mast and the racing version of this boat, the 2023r came stock with a 32 foot mast. My question is...is a taller mast going to give me any appreciable change in performance. Had the boat out this weekend in 15 mph winds with the main and 100% storm jib and still had some weather helm. I was about to make the big plunge and update to a taller mast, but is it worth the money?......Any thoughts out there?
idahoboater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2011, 11:12   #2

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Moody 31
Re: Standard vs Tall Rig

Quote:
Originally Posted by idahoboater View Post
Had the boat out this weekend in 15 mph winds with the main and 100% storm jib and still had some weather helm. I was about to make the big plunge and update to a taller mast, but is it worth the money?......Any thoughts out there?
Hi and welcome to CF.

That is an odd combination in 15 mph winds. I would have thought full genoa and main touching on a first reef. So is it a 100% or storm jib, they are different.

Pete
Pete7 is offline   Reply With Quote