Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-10-2010, 13:12   #1

Small Trailer Sailer / Little Pocket Cruiser

As you can probably tell from the question, I am a relative newcomer to sailing (though I sailed a lot of Sunfish as a teen-ager) and to this website. Is there anyone on here who has had experience sailing the Vagabond 17, also known as the Holder 17? From my (inexperienced) perspective, it seems to have many of the features we are looking for--trailerable, lightweight, option to stay on board for a night or two. Any other similar size/weight boats you would recommend over this one? Thanks, Lynn
LynnandBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2010, 13:48   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Valiant 40 (1975)
I like the Compac line although I have very little experience with the Vagabond 17.
s/v Beth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2010, 14:48   #3

Boat: Beneteau 32.5
I've actually been using a Vagabond 17 for local sailing for years.

I find it very easy to rig, launch and retrieve. I find it more forgiving than many boats in it size range (not too tender). It sails reasonably well, but is not the sharpest tacking boat i've ever seen. I don't like that the mainsheet attaches off center on the rear transom. It has proven to be very low maintenance.

Personally, for overnight use, I'd pick something a bit bigger that is still easy to trailer such as the West Wight Potter. The cabin space is very cramped on the Vagabond.

Overall, I think it's a good boat, but if you want to spend nights aboard, I think you'll be happier to get something with more cabin space.
nautical62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2010, 15:13   #4