Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-09-2011, 16:06   #1

Boat: Grampian 26
Samson 32 Westsail 32

I am going to see this boat later next week, It is a Samson 32 ferro and I have now been told by a few people that the Westsail 32 is an almost carbon copy. I have limited knowledge of either and have been searching the net for more info, I would appreciate and info or knowledge you have with either.
It will be in need of a complete refit interior wise along with some rigging.
looking forward to seeing ths boat and doing the sea trial next week.
I currently have a Grampian 26 so this could be a great upgrade if info and feedback along with seeing her all comes together
knottygurl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 16:15   #2

Re: Samson 32 Westsail 32

Tons of info on the W32 all over this forum. A search will turn up worlds of knowledge.

If its too much. They're slow, don't go to weather in a chop, and stout. Comfortable in a sea way, not very maneuverability. They can carry a ton of stores.

Don't know much about the Samson.
Old 08-09-2011, 17:05   #3
GDD

Read up on the pros and cons of ferro-cement. The only thing they seem to have going for them is that they're cheap. If they have another advantage I'd like to hear about it.

I owned a ferro boat that was very well done....except when the engine mounts cracked I was really at a loss for how to fix them. The hull was very fair and showed no signs that water had reached the re-bar. It was a Samson design, but that says nothing about the builder.