Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-05-2016, 08:25   #1

Sailing or shipping a 24-foot from Tasmania to Melbourne?

I am quite new to sailing (just got my RYA skipper) so excuse me if this sounds newbie.
I am looking at buying a small yacht to practice sailing in Phillip Bay (the bay around Melbourne) and I found my dream boat. It is a 24-foot Top Hat (1987) . The problem is that it is currently in Tasmania and winter is coming (not sure if it makes a difference)
Would it be easy to sail it back to Melbourne (with the help of an experienced skipper of course) or it is better to hire a boat transporter? Would love to have opinions.
Cheers
cyrilg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2016, 09:16   #2

Boat: 1962 Columbia 29 MK 1 #37
Re: Sailing or shipping a 24-foot from Tasmania to Melbourne?

Better talk to Snowpetrel about that one! Welcome here BTW!
1962 Columbia 29 MKI #37
Don C L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2016, 09:55   #3

Boat: Reinke S10 & Raven 26
Send a message via Skype™ to grantmc

Definitely a doable trip and lots of fun. You'll remember the trip for the rest of your life.
You don't say where the boat is in Tassy. Obviously study charts carefully and decide/plan your route, safe havens etc.

Once ready to go, pick you're weather window, as for any trip and go. You could assume an average speed of about 4 knots, assuming you have an engine.

Issues to consider:
Should have a survey, and tell surveyor what you're planning.
Get the motor checked and serviced. Get a couple of sets of spare filters and impellers.
Spend $100 to get a rigger to check too.