Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-11-2012, 06:12   #1

Boat: Irwin II, 28
Roller furling stuck up Genoa

I'm new to owning a sailboat. I have a roller furling with a 155% Genoa. I tried to pull it down last weekend (end of the season) and it seems to be stuck. I loosened all the lines and pulling on the sail doesn't move the lines up or the sail down at all.
I don't know the brand of the roller at this posting but the sail has a roundish piece that went in the slot and it took a couple of us to pull it up this summer. I'm concerned part of the sail may not have gone in the track when it was hoisted this summer (I don't know).
As of this posting, I'm going to leave it rolled up for the winter. I'm sure that is not good for it. I'm also not sure if pulling harder on it at this point is a better idea. Note, I'm in Ohio and it is now getting cold out...40ish degrees F.
Ideas, Thoughts???
Thanks Tom
Tom Berk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2012, 06:24   #2

Boat: Outbound 44
Re: Roller furling stuck up Genoa

Use a pair of binoculars and see what is happening at the top of the sail. Is the halyard wrapped around the headstay? Has the luff tape pulled out of the track? Has a track section separated from its connector?
Old 19-11-2012, 06:59   #3

Thanks Paul,
I'll run out and take a look at it this weekend. If I can't "fix it": Can the Genoa survive a winter if I can't get it down?
Old 19-11-2012, 07:16   #4

Boat: Outbound 44