Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-03-2011, 09:23   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Carolina
Boat: 1977 Pearson 365 ketch, "Rocky", tender to be named "Adrian"
Posts: 8
Radome Mounting Location

We are installing a Simrad system, auto pilot, chartplotter/fishfinder/radar, weather.
We have a 1977 Pearson 365 ketch. Where is the best place to mount the radome?
__________________

__________________
Rocky's Mate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 09:30   #2
Registered User
 
speciald@ocens.'s Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: On the boat - Carib, Chesapeake
Boat: 58 Taswell AS
Posts: 1,139
Re: Radome mounting location

As high as possible. Either on the mast at the first spreader or on a stern pole. The radome should be higher than your eyesight as the radiation could cause cataracts. Don't bother with a tilting mount.
__________________

__________________
speciald@ocens. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 09:41   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Carolina
Boat: 1977 Pearson 365 ketch, "Rocky", tender to be named "Adrian"
Posts: 8
Re: Radome mounting location

Why not a tilting or gimballed mount? I think he ordered one. Better on main or mizzen mast?
__________________
Rocky's Mate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 09:51   #4
Commercial Member
 
Mark Johnson's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New Bern NC
Boat: Searunner 34 Trimaran
Posts: 1,565
Re: Radome mounting location

If you will possibly add alternative energy systems later... I suggest 15' to 20' off of the deck on the mainmast. This keeps the weight low, and saves the top of the davits for a solar panel rack, (which would be shaded by a radome or wind generator).

The best of all possible wind generator mounts is a small quiet one... (Rutland, AeroGen, Ampair, etc), mounted on a bracket, about 3/4 of the way up the mizzen mast.

I have friends with a 365 who did these two alt. energy mods, and it worked for them 100% of the time, for many years. In this case, their Ampair, made neither outside noise, (at all), nor internal transmitted noise!

It was a wonderful set up. Save the mizzen for that!

Mark
__________________
Mark Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 09:58   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Carolina
Boat: 1977 Pearson 365 ketch, "Rocky", tender to be named "Adrian"
Posts: 8
Re: Radome mounting location

Why not a tilting or gimballed mount for the radome???
__________________
Rocky's Mate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 10:03   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Carolina
Boat: 1977 Pearson 365 ketch, "Rocky", tender to be named "Adrian"
Posts: 8
Re: Radome mounting location

Mark, were you in the Navy from 1969-1973. My husband knew a Mark Johnson.
Also we are in Oriental not far from New Bern do you know any Pearson 365's nearby whose owners would like to show off their boat? Linda
__________________
Rocky's Mate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 10:49   #7
Registered User
 
Unicorn Dreams's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Clear Lake Marine Services - Seabrook, Texas
Boat: Gulfstar, Mark II Ketch, 43'
Posts: 2,359
Re: Radome mounting location

On our boat, the radome is mounted on the mizzen just above the spreaders.
We put our KISS windgen at the top of the mizzrn for better airflow and out of the way..
__________________
Formerly Santana
The winds blow true,The skies stay blue,
Everyday is a good day for SAILING!!!!
Unicorn Dreams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 11:11   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Carolina
Boat: 1977 Pearson 365 ketch, "Rocky", tender to be named "Adrian"
Posts: 8
Re: Radome mounting location

Again, thoughts on gimballed or not for the mount??? Anyone??
__________________
Rocky's Mate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 11:17   #9
Registered User
 
s/v Moondancer's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Fiji but heading for Alaska
Boat: Tayana 55
Posts: 1,225
Re: Radome mounting location

Our Raymarine 4 Kw is 25 ft up the main, electronics company said a gimballed mount was not necessary. That has proven to be true and we pick up big ships at over 30 miles and seas up to 20 ft have not proven to be a problem.

If you blow up our picture you can see the position.
__________________
Phil

"Remember, experience only means that you screw-up less often."
s/v Moondancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 11:24   #10
Registered User
 
Mark1977's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Halifax, N.S Canada
Boat: Tanzer 26, Walk22
Posts: 930
Re: Radome mounting location

I am also trying to decide where to put mine. I think I am leaning towards mounting it on a pole, on the stern. how high should it be mounted??
__________________
Mark1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 15:42   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cayuga Lake NY - or on the boat somewhere south of there
Boat: Caliber 40
Posts: 1,096
Re: Radome mounting location

I had a scanstrut with a self levelling gimballed mount. On the passage from the Chesapeake to the BVI we had pretty big seas and the shock loading of the radome reaching the limits of the gimbal almost tore the strut out of the transom. I had to immobilize the radome for the rest of the passage. It was great for Chesapeake Bay but for ocean passages, never again. I just today put the radome on the mast on a fixed mount like I should have done in the first place. Hey, if you want a great deal on a self levelling mount, I will be back in MD by June!
__________________
sck5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 16:09   #12
Commercial Member
 
Mark Johnson's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New Bern NC
Boat: Searunner 34 Trimaran
Posts: 1,565
Re: Radome mounting location

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocky's Mate View Post
Mark, were you in the Navy from 1969-1973. My husband knew a Mark Johnson.
Also we are in Oriental not far from New Bern do you know any Pearson 365's nearby whose owners would like to show off their boat? Linda
Nope, I am a different Mark Johnson...

I can help with the other question though.

A good friend, Paul, at NWC marina in New Bern, (252-638-4133), has the setup that I think is perfect for them on a Pearson 365. (Solar + wind) He works there, and will eventually be dockmaster. If you call first, I am sure he will give you the tour.

We met he and his wife in Trinidad some years back, and other than a couple of young single guys, They were the only other couple, (middle aged and up), that we met in years, that were cruising in what we'd call a "small Boat".

They were "out there" for a long time, and their boat is totally self sufficient, and tricked out. It is a small but truly blue water boat, that is a classic. It has a low enough mast for even the Gulf Coast ICW, and shallow draft as well. These features, along with others, make this a perfect size boat for a couple on a budget, but you know that.

Mark
__________________
Mark Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 05:35   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Carolina
Boat: 1977 Pearson 365 ketch, "Rocky", tender to be named "Adrian"
Posts: 8
Re: Radome mounting location

Thanks to all for the feedback.
__________________
Rocky's Mate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 20:11   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Portsmouth, RI
Boat: Hylas 49, Cutter Rigged Sloop
Posts: 109
Re: Radome mounting location

The one thing you need to consider with the radome is sail chafe. Putting it on the main mast may require a guard of some kind to protect the radome from the genoa on tacks. When its on the mizzen, you don't usually have this problem.

FWIW

Rick
Hylas 49-057 "Black Diamond"
Portsmouth, RI
__________________
Black Diamond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2011, 02:32   #15
Senior Cruiser
 
Jim Cate's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2008
Location: cruising SW Pacific
Boat: Jon Sayer 1-off 46 ft fract rig sloop strip plank in W Red Cedar
Posts: 11,454
Re: Radome mounting location

Quote:
Originally Posted by Black Diamond View Post
The one thing you need to consider with the radome is sail chafe. Putting it on the main mast may require a guard of some kind to protect the radome from the genoa on tacks. When its on the mizzen, you don't usually have this problem.

FWIW

Rick
Hylas 49-057 "Black Diamond"
Portsmouth, RI
This is one of those bits of "group wisdom" that we hear repeated over and over again... and I don't get it! On our last boat we had the radar on the mast for 15 years, no protection of any sort... and we had neither damage to sail nor radome. Did over 50,000 miles with that setup, no ill effects noted.

So, as far as I can see, there is little to worry about from this angle. And FWIW, I prefer the radome on the mast to a stern mount... fewer things to interfere with the radar beam and a better horizon distance. YMMV.

Cheers,

Jim and Ann s/v Insatiable II lying Towlers Bay, NSW, Oz
__________________

__________________
Jim and Ann s/v Insatiable II , lying Port Cygnet, Tasmania once again
Jim Cate is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furuno Radome Damage 125Miles Marine Electronics 5 28-01-2010 17:50
Raw Water Intake Strainer Mounting Location? pressuredrop Construction, Maintenance & Refit 7 03-01-2010 19:43
Wind Generator Mounting Location candine Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 31 01-12-2008 04:09
FURUNO RADAR M821 RADOME rocou Marine Electronics 2 24-11-2008 17:27



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:06.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.