Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-03-2011, 01:41   #16
CF Adviser
Moderator Emeritus
Hud3's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Virginia
Boat: Island Packet 380, now sold
Posts: 8,847
Images: 47
Re: Radome mounting location

On a pole. Easier to install and service. Works just fine without the added height. The only 20+ mile out targets I was interested in were squalls, large fast-moving ships or land masses, and the extra height of a mast-mount doesn't add any appreciable quality to the returns. In fact, it performs better on close-in targets if you're in a dense fog or moonless night. Mine had a manually tilting platform so I could level the dome when on an extended tack.

Hud3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2011, 06:13   #17
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Portsmouth, RI
Boat: Hylas 49, Cutter Rigged Sloop
Posts: 97
Re: Radome mounting location

I'm sure it depends on whether you have a cutter rigged boat with a staysail and yankee vs a 150% overlap genoa. Also the layout of the mast, stays, etc. The fact that any one boat does not have the issue doesn't mean its not there for a lot of people.

On my last boat I had a Kato guard around the radome and needed it. On this boat I have the radar on the mast, but it doesn't really need the guard as the sail (a 130% genoa in a cutter rig) doesn't bother it.

Its just another variable. I do agree with the comment about the pole mount being easier to maintain and (probably) easier to put a gimbal mount on. Many Swan and ocean racers do it this way, and I assume they are OK with any perceived loss of horizon.

S/V Black Diamond
Hylas 49-057
Portsmouth, RI

Black Diamond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 07:57   #18
Registered User
Extemporaneous's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Canada
Boat: Corbin 39 Special Edition
Posts: 909
Re: Radome Mounting Location

I went with a Waltz gimbaled mast mount.

Self-Levelling Radar Mount

Good Luck,

Do the best you can EVERY step of the way and maybe, just maybe......
It will be good enough!
Extemporaneous is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furuno Radome Damage 125Miles Marine Electronics 5 28-01-2010 16:50
Raw Water Intake Strainer Mounting Location? pressuredrop Construction, Maintenance & Refit 7 03-01-2010 18:43
Wind Generator Mounting Location candine Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 31 01-12-2008 03:09
FURUNO RADAR M821 RADOME rocou Marine Electronics 2 24-11-2008 16:27

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:22.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.