Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-10-2010, 04:00   #1

Questions About Sailing and Boat

I am a current law student deciding to become a sailor! I have 5,000 and live in florida. would either of these boats work to quit law school and learn to sail around the caribbean? I have no idea how to sail, will probably coast it for awhile to figure it out and try bartering for lessons. If anyone has advice would be great- negative advice not needed! I am sailing out!

1978 TANZER 22' SAIL BOAT or 1978 North American Sloop Weekender
-Adjustable swing keel/ kick up rudder and tiller
-21 Ft. fiberlass hull, no leaks or soft spots
jer033044 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2010, 03:53   #2
Senior Cruiser

Community Sponsor
Cruisers Forum Supporter

pirate

Hi Jer...
I don't see why you cannot do it in the Tanzer 22... they look to be a pretty solid boat and seem to have a strong Association which is usually a good sign for a boat type...
If I could take a 22ftr and a 21ftr across the Biscay to Spain and Portugal I don't see why you cannot island hop to the Caribbean in your eventual 'new boat'.
As for experience/knowledge... its a steep learning curve and it'll come on you fast... just take it easy and don't push her... you'll do just fine.
Check out this site... you may find it useful..
http://mobyware.com/mobyware/mobyware.shtml
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20062009(001).jpg
Views:	158
Size:	291.5 KB
ID:	20064   Click image for larger version

Name:	28102008(001).jpg
Views:	187
Size:	416.3 KB
ID:	20065  

You can't beat a people up (for 75yrs+) and have them say..