Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-09-2014, 09:54   #1
Freelance Delivery Skipper..
 
boatman61's Avatar

Community Sponsor
Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK/Portugal
Posts: 20,188
Images: 2
Send a message via Skype™ to boatman61
pirate Portable AIS

Okay.. maybe a dumb question but...
My next job does not have AIS.. so.. it has crossed my mind a portable set-up might be a good idea.. have looked on line and the commercial portable costs a bomb and is pretty bulky..
I've found a transponder on line with GPS areal and is a receiver as well when hooked up to a VHF areal with a splitter... its not that bulky either.. and less than 500..
So.. my question for the electronic engineers is..
Is it feasible/how hard to fit a system temporarily job by job.. splitting the VHF is no big deal and the rest..??
I already carry my own Notebook CP with Nimble Navigator which has an AIS facility.. also H/H VHF etc etc... so another lump is not gonna affect my load much..
Is the trouble worth the investment..
Cheers guys...
__________________


Born To Be Wild
boatman61 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2014, 10:10   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
atoll's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: gettin naughty on the beach in cornwall
Boat: 63 custom alloy sloop,macwester26,prout snowgoose 37 elite catamaran!
Posts: 9,310
Images: 75
Re: Portable AIS

just get yourself one of these,for a transponder you need a mmsi number and a ship station licence

http://www.cactusnav.com/nasa-radar-system-p-783.html

or one of these if you want to use the laptop

http://www.cnfoutdoors.co.uk/nasa-ma...L8jxoCs_fw_wcB
__________________

__________________
my catamaran building project updates http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/...36#post2502136
atoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2014, 10:21   #3
Freelance Delivery Skipper..
 
boatman61's Avatar

Community Sponsor
Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK/Portugal
Posts: 20,188
Images: 2
Send a message via Skype™ to boatman61
pirate Re: Portable AIS

Awesome... seems you've a better search engine..
Thanks..
__________________


Born To Be Wild
boatman61 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2014, 10:25   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winter Bahamas - Summer BC
Boat: Lagoon 450, Bavaria Vision 40
Posts: 615
Re: Portable AIS

The em-trak AIS R100 has a USB connector to connect to your laptop.
https://em-trak.com

For transmittion you need a MMSI of the boat and you can only program the unit once. For receive only you are good to go. Receive is better than no AIS at all. Great to see the collision vectors display on you chart, especially at night.
__________________
roetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2014, 10:30   #5
Freelance Delivery Skipper..
 
boatman61's Avatar

Community Sponsor
Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK/Portugal
Posts: 20,188
Images: 2
Send a message via Skype™ to boatman61
pirate Re: Portable AIS

Quote:
Originally Posted by roetter View Post
The em-trak AIS R100 has a USB connector to connect to your laptop.
https://em-trak.com

For transmittion you need a MMSI of the boat and you can only program the unit once. For receive only you are good to go. Receive is better than no AIS at all. Great to see the collision vectors display on you chart, especially at night.
True but... if I did it under eg; my own boats name then only used it on boats with no AIS..??
Is that a problem..
The unit Atoll came up with.. seen loads of sailboats with little or no info other than a name.. often its just 'sailing vessel'
__________________


Born To Be Wild
boatman61 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2014, 10:38   #6
Senior Cruiser
 
atoll's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: gettin naughty on the beach in cornwall
Boat: 63 custom alloy sloop,macwester26,prout snowgoose 37 elite catamaran!
Posts: 9,310
Images: 75
Re: Portable AIS

Quote:
Originally Posted by boatman61 View Post
True but... if I did it under eg; my own boats name then only used it on boats with no AIS..??
Is that a problem..
The unit Atoll came up with.. seen loads of sailboats with little or no info other than a name.. often its just 'sailing vessel'
probably totalyillegal lol
but no reason why you could not get a ship station licence for your imaginary yacht,then apply for a mmsi number for it lol

please don't quote mewhen applying



suggest using "ss lollipop" as your vessels name
__________________
my catamaran building project updates http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/...36#post2502136
atoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2014, 10:39   #7
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Santa Cruz
Boat: Boatless Again
Posts: 4,310
Re: Portable AIS

The ship's aren't going to care if the name on your transponder matches the vessel. However, if more countries join Singapore and Thailand in requiring AIS transponders so they can track your whereabouts, they aren't going to be happy about it.

I agree that the receiver alone gives you 80% of the benefits of AIS.
__________________
donradcliffe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2014, 10:45   #8
Freelance Delivery Skipper..
 
boatman61's Avatar

Community Sponsor
Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK/Portugal
Posts: 20,188
Images: 2
Send a message via Skype™ to boatman61
pirate Re: Portable AIS

Quote:
Originally Posted by atoll View Post
probably totalyillegal lol
but no reason why you could not get a ship station licence for your imaginary yacht,then apply for a mmsi number for it lol

please don't quote mewhen applying
Well... with all the imaginary residents with SSR figured its possible..
Ahh well.. once a duck n diver.. always a duck n diver..
__________________


Born To Be Wild
boatman61 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2014, 10:45   #9
Registered User
 
S/V Alchemy's Avatar

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Toronto
Boat: Custom 41' Steel Pilothouse Cutter
Posts: 4,572
Re: Portable AIS

Quote:
Originally Posted by boatman61 View Post
True but... if I did it under eg; my own boats name then only used it on boats with no AIS..??
Is that a problem..
The unit Atoll came up with.. seen loads of sailboats with little or no info other than a name.. often its just 'sailing vessel'
It's a problem of misidentification rather than a problem of not having AIS.

Imagine you already have a receive-only AIS-equipped VHF, like my Standard Horizon GX2200. Assume you have an MMSI that identifies that unit as belonging to "S/V Boatman Phil", an eight metre bilge keeler from Gosport.

This only matters if you need to make a DSC call to some other vessel in the middle of the Atlantic on your 12 metre delivery. Even then, you can explain, if needed, why you seem bigger in real life...

But if you do not make that DSC call, you get the benefits (even with a simple "emergency antenna" of the "Signal Mate" kind in the back of the VHF) of AIS, which are a sort of watchkeeping/CPA/TCPA facility without actually making your vagrant MMSI known. If you see the possibility of collision, you can call 12 or 16; if you need to do Ch. 70 because things are getting tight, you can use a DSC-equipped handheld, which is allowed, nay, expected to "roam". And if you absolutely must call DSC on your own base VHF, you are in "emergency" mode and all is forgiven under COLREGS, no?

I have just a flat two-foot whip in the back of my VHF inside a steel pilothouse and regularly get 10 NM AIS contacts from my dock.


If I bothered to put a tuned AIS fibreglass whip on the rail leading to the base unit, I'm sure I would do much better.
__________________
Can't sleep? Read www.alchemy2009.blogspot.com for fast relief. Can't read? Avoid www.volumesofsalt.blogspot.com, because it's just personal reviews of sea books.
S/V Alchemy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2014, 12:03   #10
Long Range Cruiser
 
MarkJ's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Australian living on "Sea Life" currently in England.
Boat: Beneteau 393 "Sea Life"
Posts: 12,828
Images: 25
Re: Portable AIS

Hi Phil,

When I was setting up my Raymarine AIS650 i needed to test the antenna with one of those portable, emergency vhf antennas. It worked a treat!

The AIS just has a normal 12 volt poer and USB plug to go straight into a laptop. It comes with its own GPS antenna that can be set up below, it doesnt need to be on deck as it can see through fibreglass.

With the MMSI have it for your own boat.

Change the name simply with ProAIS2 laptop software to whatever boat you are on.

No one is out there floating around checking boats are transmitting the correct MMSI. And ships dont call DSC they just ring you on 16.

Its a great idea to have your own
__________________

__________________
Notes on a Circumnavigation.
OurLifeAtSea.com

Somalia Pirates and our Convoy
MarkJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Taking portable AIS / Handheld VHF on Flight simonpickard Rules of the Road, Regulations & Red Tape 5 16-02-2014 10:52
AIS Simulation - Run VDR to play AIS Nmea file rgleason OpenCPN 16 12-01-2013 11:28
Portable AIS StargazerWA OpenCPN 26 07-02-2012 10:24
Can You Get Radar & AIS Overlay on Laptop ? AIS Transceiver Recommendations ? lunasea.ds Marine Electronics 22 27-12-2010 14:06
Portable AIS Units edsailing Navigation 4 22-09-2010 09:59



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:58.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.