Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-03-2017, 16:46   #1

Owners of Spindrift 43 or Oceanic 46 please!!!

My wife and I have been saving dutifully for seven years and are finally ready to throw down and purchase the much anticipated addition to our family. Due to the rough weather we anticipate in the upper lats we plan to cruise (don't worry, warm weather too!!), I'm crossing my fingers that someone out there may be able to answer some questions for us. If you are or were an owner of one, maybe you could let us know which one and help us out.

How does she do upwind? I'm not planning on winning any upwind races but how would she do fighting off a lee shore in a heavy blow?

What sort of comfort ratio can we expect? Based on her lines and displacement, I would think she would not be at all tender, but I'd love to hear what you think about her on this subject.

How much wind does it take to achieve headway (all be it slow headway), and how much wind before she hits cruising speed?

How is visibility from the cockpit? From the pilot house?

Thank you very much in advance. We have been looking for our cruising boat for awhile now and really hope one of these could be the one.

Cheers,
Nate & Nina
strongmonty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2017, 21:07   #2
Marine Service Provider

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Re: Owners of Spindrift 43 or Oceanic 46 please!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by strongmonty View Post