Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-05-2008, 21:14   #1

Boat: none yet
Opinions about a 32' to 37' cruiser

Hello all. Jeff H I expect a response since I find your comments interesting and well...very matter of fact!

I am still searching for a boat that is 32' to 37' in the $40000 price range. Must be well maintained and up-graded. Must be easy to sail single handed. Something stable and stiff. I am not as concerned about speed or performance as Jeff H is..lol!
I plan on sailing mostly in the Great Lakes, Bahamas and Caribbean. I have sailed these waters in the past. So I am not a newbie!
However my needs have changed as I have aged ( gracefully I hope!) Therefore although most of my sailing has been geared towards performance racer/cruisers...(Jeff would like that) I am at the stage where I want some creature comforts and I find myself not in as much of a rush as when I was younger. Since I am retired we (my wife and I )plan on living aboard the boat during winters for 3 to 6 months.

I am getting lazy as well! Meaning as little teak top side as possible! So things like a windlass and ..gulp and electric winch (or is that wench?) is starting to look very attractive.
Anyway I would like some opinions on boats of this type, size and in my price range.
Here's some of the possibilities:

Jeanneau Espace 990- very rare in North America. I've found one mint condition but I have very limited info on this boat. looks promising...and no it's not a motor sailor!

Lots and lots of Hunters - 37,35.5, 35 ,34 , 33.5, 33 Most seem to have moisture problems and no my top pick. but nice pricing! Also the 32' Vision Of the lot I prefer the Cherubini models (37 & 34)

C&C 35 Landfall - I like em what can I say?