Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-11-2015, 14:37   #1

Oceanis 473 or Ocean Star 51.2

Hi there, I've been creeping these forums for awhile in doing my research for my first boat. After months of obsessing on which boat to get (and annoying the hell out of my girlfriend in the process) I believe I have narrowed down my search to two boats. One is an Oceanis 473 the other being an Ocean Star 51.2.

My plan is to take on a two year circumnavigation in about 3 years time. Though I have very little experience with sailboats, I am signed up for all the sailing courses offered by a sailing school in Vancouver (my home base for now) here is the link for anyone curious of what I will be taking.
Vancouver Sailing Club - HOME
I also will be hiring a personal coach once I have my own boat if I feel inadequately skilled for the boat (post sail school) or if I need to become more fine tuned in my techniques.

As it stands, the plan is to buy the boat next year around this time an spend the next two getting accustomed to it, refitting anything I need to, and practicing around the coast of Vancouver and Vancouver island.

I figure a lot of people will say that I should start of with a smaller boat and I have been eyeing up a hunter (ignoring the eye rolls) though I am not exactly keen on this path as I plan to live aboard until it's time to leave on my epic adventure to save money on rent.