Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-02-2014, 13:04   #1

Boat: Luger Voyager 30ft
New to Sailing

i'm new to sailing and just purchased a 86 Luger voyager 30 ft. Was wondering what type of equipment is essential to sailing, example chart plotter, etc. the rigging and ropes are good. the jib sail has a tear in it, so need to find a new jib or is it possible to repair a torn sail. also need to do bottom painting, any recommendations, want to keep boat in water and not have to take it out that much. any info is appreciated.

joe
lugervoyager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2014, 13:11   #2

Boat: Gib'Sea 302, 30' - Hydra
Re: new to sailing

Welcome to CruisersForum, lugervoyager

IMO, a chartplotter isn't essential: I have done without for 35 years. But it's nice to have.

But charts, either paper or electronics, are essential, with means to fix and plot your position on these charts.

Other members will give lots of opinions about what is necessary.

Yes, it is possible to repair a torn sail. It isn't really expensive to have it done professionally.

Alain
Hydra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2014, 13:29   #3

Boat: Catalina 34

I suppose the best answer depends on your intended use. Do you plan to daysail? Go cruising on weekends? Longer cruises? Race? Liveaboard? Consider your primary use and let that drive your equipment and upgrade priorities.

Safety equipment (PFDs, flares, harness/jackline, spares, etc.) is a great place to start assessing your needs regardless of what your intended use is.
Old 11-02-2014, 13:47   #4

I plan on live aboard in the future, would be trying to sail the east coast would be in the Chesapeake bay at first.
Old 11-02-2014, 19:14   #5

Boat: 15 foot Canoe