Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-01-2016, 19:53   #1

Boat: San Juan 28
Need wiring tips for installing a gps chart plotter

Although I've wired several entire homes and many boat trailers myself, I have no experience wiring boats and am seeking your wisdom. I bought a nice swing arm mount and installed so I can read the screen from the cockpit or cabin. My questions:
1. Is it necessary to wire to the main switch block or OK to go directly to the battery using an intermediate fuse and possibly a switch? All the switches are in use. There is already a switch/fuse for the existing instruments (depth and speed) and I want to keep the existing instruments available to use.
2. Is there a particular type of marine wire connector I should use? (To many varieties/unneeded quantities at WestMarine) Can I get them only at marine stores or is automotive OK?
3. How do I best attach the transducer to the interior of my hull?
4. I need to run two groups of wires from the unit through my fiberglass interior next to where I mounted the unit and need rubber protection grommets....where do I buy?
Thanks for your help!
--Christian
dailytrek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2016, 20:08   #2

Boat: Under construction 35' ketch (and +3 smaller)
Re: Need wiring tips for installing a gps chart plotter

A quick question, do you have a main fuse, main switch and or busbar between the battery and the switch block?
TeddyDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2016, 20:37   #3

Boat: Jeanneau 43 Deck Salon

1. You can.