Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-02-2013, 18:39   #1

Boat: ...none yet
Need input...

Today I ended up checking out a 1981 Hunter 27', as a novice I have no idea of what to look for other than the obvious stuff. The boat has some minor damage on the outside, as per the current owner no other major problems. I posted the pics of the outside (no inside pics yet). Asking price is $4999.

Here are the pics:

Hunter27

Any advice/observation would be appreciated.

Cheers!
Ardi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2013, 18:44   #2

Boat: Finnsailer 38
Re: Need input...

I think you can do better for that much money, or get the price down a lot. At a quick glance that crack and rust stain at the top of the rudder would worry me more than the hull scratches.
Old 22-02-2013, 18:46   #3

One word, no ... two words of advise: marine survey.
Richard_W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2013, 18:48   #4

What would a fair price then be?

All im looking for is a boat that I can use for a season or two to learn how to sail. Basically, as long as the boat is structurally sound and can float I would be happy! Is that naive?
Old 22-02-2013, 18:55   #5

Boat: Finnsailer 38

Quote:
Basically, as long as the boat is structurally sound and can float I would be happy! Is that naive?
That is a great way to learn, but I think you can find a better boat for the same or less money. That one at a glance looks like it needs a fair bit of work to be seaworthy. A quick CL search found this boat in RI for a $1000 more, but it also looks to be in much better shape. I'm convinced you could find something for $5K that is better than the one you showed us.
Old 22-02-2013, 19:00   #6