Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-05-2011, 09:23   #1
STG

Boat: Coronado 35
Need Advice About Tight Steering Problem

I am pretty new to sailing larger boats with wheel steering and need some help. The steering wheel seems very tight and I am not sure how to lube or loosen. I have only had this boat for a few months and so do not know the history or if it is supposed to be like this, but as I wish to install auto pilot at some time, I am not so sure that it can handle this load. It is a real work out after a few hours out there when the wind and waves move me off course and I try to correct. (Even worse for my teenage daughter.) Wheel acts almost like it is already locked and the wind and won’t turn the rudder on their won without my turning the wheel. (Can’t feel the rudder).
Description: It has a pedestal similar to Epson (might even be) with about a 36” wheel (guessing by memory). The locking knob is loosened to rule that out. When I removed the compass on top, I can see a gear with chain going down the pedestal. From underneath (center cockpit) in the engine compartment it has at some point switched to about a 1” red rubber hose looking thing which I assume is some sort of cable. It is not the standard double cable and pulleys as this cable goes straight to the arm of the rudder where the rudder comes up through the hull and has a metal rod coming out of the hose end. It looks like just a very large heavy cable similar to an oversized throttle cable or something.