Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-05-2011, 08:41   #1
STG

Boat: Coronado 35
Need Advice About Raising Deck ( via Adding to Freeboard )

I am pretty new to all of this, and I have really found this site to be useful in my research as there seems to be a lot of experienced members. So, here is a question I could not find the answer to by just researching alone that I am hoping I can get some advice on. If there are other threads that I just coudn't find, please advise.......

I bought a sailboat a few months ago. It is a Coronado/Columbia 35 (1972). It has 6' headroom throughout which on average isn't too bad, however (and unfortunately) I am 6'4". The only place with 7' room is the companion way where I can stand to stretch, etc.

I have been living aboard for 2 months now, and although it is a little smaller than I wanted, price dictated this was the best I could do for my budget without having to "gut" it and start over. It is center cockpit and pretty roomy and well arranged for the size. Better than many that were over 40' that I looked at. So far the height hasn't bothered me too much as when I am inside I am usually sitting or laying down. But as a liveaboard, I still have to stand to do dishes, shower, etc. and when standing I do have to lower my head a little which is only ok a short period before it gets annoying.

So....the issue is regarding the feasibility of raising the sides at the hull joint to raise the deck (and therefore the headroom) about 6 inches. As I intend to make this a way of life indefinitely, and would not likely be able to afford anything bigger for years, the added height would make it much more comfortable if I do not lose too much in stability and performance.

Here is some relative information for consideration: