Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-01-2019, 14:33   #1

Looking @ San Juan 21, Fixed Keel. Good Deal?

Hello All,

I am looking at a San Juan 21 with a fixed keel and trailer on Craigslist for $2600 and I am curious if this deal is to good to be true. I live in the PNW and would be sailing it predominantly in the Puget Sound. I am pretty new to sailing-I know how to and have my Basic certification-but this would be my first boat. I have been looking at boats for awhile now and I don't think I have come across a deal like this with a very clean boat AND trailer. Is there something that I should be aware of while looking at one of these boats?

Thanks for your time.

Best,

Jordan
tayex4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2019, 14:50   #2

Re: Looking @ San Juan 21, Fixed Keel. Good Deal?

Well I had a SJ21 my first sailboat. The fixed keel loses some of what is good about the boat: Trailerability and launching at a ramp... (unless you use a travelift launch) But it may sail a bit better. They are lightweight boats but fun.
BTW, there is one nearby me up here that I think is $2200 with trailer. I was thinking of offering him $1000, but haven't actually looked at it other than driven by. It's been in his yard for months. And I'm too old for a boat again. It's older and yellow though! I would name it "Bumble".... maybe paint bee stripes on it! (Skagit county)

Boats are hard to get rid of these days, so dont be afraid to make a ridiculous offer. $2600 is likely too much for a SJ21. Sail condition is important, look closely.

Cheechako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2019, 15:19   #3