Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-06-2008, 12:25   #1

Boat: looking - but when I get one her name will be "Opportunity"
Looking for knowledgeable advice!

Ahoy all,

This is my second post, my first one being in the meets & greets section and this is my first forum membership.

Some background and then my question.
I have basic sailing knowledge. I live about 30 minutes from a marina where I can sail Sabine Lake which connects to the Gulf of Mexico. My goal is to sail around the world in about 8 years (when my daughter graduates from high school.) Then continue sailing, based in Tahiti.
The question:
The boat I think I want for bluewater cruising is going to be about a 32 foot, full keel, well built (Cape Dory, Alberg, Bristol) sloop or maybe a ketch. The problem is, the price will be around $25,000, which is a lot for me. But, I don't know if I want to wait several years before I buy a boat. So... do I buy a smaller, less expensive boat to sail close to home, thus robbing my savings for my bluewater boat and have to start saving all over again, or, do I not buy anthing until I find my "dream" boat, thus, not sailing for quite awhile?
What do you smarter, experienced, sailors have to offer in the way of a solution for me?
In other words, HELP!
angela is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2008, 12:30   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Research vessel for a university, retired now.
Why would buying a boat now and selling it later in order to buy a boat capable of a circumnavigation later prevent you from doing so?