Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-11-2018, 17:55   #1

Looking for advice.

I am new to sailing, but I have had my eye on an Albin Vega 27. They are tough to find state side, and I don't know how to get one here from Europe. With that being said...

I have found a 1974 Sabre 28, and I am wondering how it would compare. I chose the Albin, because I would like to be able to go from Florida around the caribbean. So I guess itt needs to be a blue water boat, right? If so, I know that the Albin is, but what about the Sabre? I have noticed that the keel on the Albin is about twice as big as the Sabre, and I wonder about sea safety. Again, I am new, and do not expect to set sail until I have been through training, and gotten some experience along the coastlines.

Thanks for any help I can get, as this Sabre "looks" like it will fit the bill, but for me, it is safety first, and tried and true counts big with me...

Cob
OlCob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2018, 18:02   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Pearson 422
Re: Looking for advice.

My limited knowledge I think the Sabre is a good boat but I know the Vega is.

Looked at www.sailboatlistings.com and found five or six Vegas in the US for sale.
skipmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2018, 03:35   #3
cruiser

Boat: Retired from CF

Trying to define "bluewater boats" here triggers an endlessly repetitive debate, many believe no such thing.

Certainly the captain's level of experience and skills are at least as critical in any case.

Most sailing Florida around the Bahamas and Caribbean is considered more coastal cruising than offshore passage making.

Taking advantage of modern weather forecasting makes it even more so.