Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-09-2017, 07:01   #1
Registered User
 
Madrugada's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: At this moment Basel Switerland
Boat: Endurance 35,1981
Posts: 111
Lofrans Cayman 88 Cables

Hi Guys.....

I have a Lofrans Cayman 88 windlass, as you can see from the pictures the cables coming directly from the bottom of the motor have seen better days...some strands are also broken

I'd like to replace these cables directly from the motor, has anyone done this job before ? Or any suggestions would be great
__________________

Madrugada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2017, 07:36   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
Sailmonkey's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Houston
Boat: '76 Allied Seawind II, 32'
Posts: 6,342
Re: Lofrans Cayman 88 Cables

Pictures?
__________________

Sailmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2017, 09:04   #3
Registered User
 
Madrugada's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: At this moment Basel Switerland
Boat: Endurance 35,1981
Posts: 111
Re: Lofrans Cayman 88 Cables Pictures

Hi Guys....

The pictures......this website will only let me one picture at a time here is 1 of 4
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	417.9 KB
ID:	155291  
Madrugada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2017, 09:06   #4
Registered User
 
Madrugada's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: At this moment Basel Switerland
Boat: Endurance 35,1981
Posts: 111
Re: Lofrans Cayman 88 Cables

2 of 4......
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	425.6 KB
ID:	155292  
Madrugada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2017, 09:08   #5
Registered User
 
Madrugada's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: At this moment Basel Switerland
Boat: Endurance 35,1981
Posts: 111
Re: Lofrans Cayman 88 Cables

3 of 4......
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	410.4 KB
ID:	155293  
Madrugada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2017, 09:11   #6
Registered User
 
Madrugada's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: At this moment Basel Switerland
Boat: Endurance 35,1981
Posts: 111
Re: Lofrans Cayman 88 Cables

4 of 4.....

Thanks guys......would it be right saying that the top cap can be removed to get access to the connections to remove the cables....?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	421.1 KB
ID:	155295  
Madrugada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2017, 10:10   #7
Registered User
 
ErikFinn's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Malaysia, Thailand
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 430
Posts: 859
Re: Lofrans Cayman 88 Cables

Motor looks quite same as on my Goiot 312, Italian motor, can't remember name now, except for those cable connections. But I reckon you could try to pry off those black rubber sleeves over the cables carefully and find the terminals underneath. Mine don't have those rubber sleeves and the terminals are in plain sight. I don't know if mine are missing or just different design.
ErikFinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2017, 10:25   #8
Registered User
 
Madrugada's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: At this moment Basel Switerland
Boat: Endurance 35,1981
Posts: 111
Re: Lofrans Cayman 88 Cables

Hi ErikFinn,

I've tried that with no success, I can't even see the connections, I hoping I can remove the the cap (silver colour) and get access
Madrugada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2017, 10:57   #9
Registered User
 
ErikFinn's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Malaysia, Thailand
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 430
Posts: 859
Re: Lofrans Cayman 88 Cables

The terminals should be on the outside of the motor casing, not inside. Have a look at some motors here:

Lofrans motor Electrico Molinete - Windlass

I suggest you try apply penetrating fluid in between those black rubber sleeves and the outside of the motor case. The sleeves are propably stuck due to corrosion.

If you open the case there is always a possibility of irreversible damage in which situation a new motor might be required.

Or if you can wait and hopefully someone who has done this job on your exact motor model will kindly reply..
ErikFinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2017, 11:46   #10
Registered User
 
Madrugada's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: At this moment Basel Switerland
Boat: Endurance 35,1981
Posts: 111
Re: Lofrans Cayman 88 Cables

Hi.....ErikFinn,

It looks like the terminals are in the inside compared to the link you sent me....not sure what year my windless is but it makes sense to have them on the outside.....

It would not be good to have to change the motor because of three cables it's working perfectly well, my plan would be to contact Lofrans directly and ask them....
Madrugada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2017, 18:18   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 151
Re: Lofrans Cayman 88 Cables

As a short term safety measure to avoid short outs, have you considered "heat shrink" cable covers?
robbievardon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2017, 22:51   #12
Registered User
 
Madrugada's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: At this moment Basel Switerland
Boat: Endurance 35,1981
Posts: 111
Re: Lofrans Cayman 88 Cables

Hi robbievardon, not interested in doing it like that I would if I was out at sea.....I'm in the middle of a refit and I spotted the cable rather just change it.
Madrugada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2017, 05:27   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 151
Re: Lofrans Cayman 88 Cables

Madruga,Would not argue with that, thought I would mention it as it is surprising how many people are unaware of their existence. Good luck with the replacement.
robbievardon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2017, 08:05   #14
Registered User
 
Madrugada's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: At this moment Basel Switerland
Boat: Endurance 35,1981
Posts: 111
Re: Lofrans Cayman 88 Cables

Hi......

Might as well change it while I have it of the deck.....I'm going to tackle the job myself.....

From talking to people you can take the cap of the top and gain access to the wires, there may be ball bearings where the rotor rotates on... I try it in the next few days......I'll post my success and how I did under this form
__________________

Madrugada is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cables, lofrans

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lofrans Cayman windlass Andy Doughty Anchoring & Mooring 1 18-02-2017 04:33
Lofrans Cayman Pawl function bbrevig Construction, Maintenance & Refit 7 23-06-2016 05:33
Anchor and chain weight recommendations for a Lofrans Cayman 88 JPL Anchoring & Mooring 11 23-06-2013 15:51
VERY Old Lofrans Cayman Windlass, Info Needed familycruising Anchoring & Mooring 3 07-10-2012 00:25
Lofrans Cayman Problem CREOLE-BELLE Anchoring & Mooring 3 19-02-2011 02:40



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:17.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.