Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-05-2008, 00:12   #1

In-Mast Furling

Hi all,

I just wanted to get everyone's opinion and real world experience with normal and in-mast furling. What are the pros and cons with both?? Or is it purely a personal choice??

Thanks for everyone's time and input!!
shadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 01:54   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Hartley Tahitian 45ft. Leisure Lady
What do you mean by normal? Are you referring to reefing?
Everything is always a personal choice. Furling offers advantages of ease of handling sails. But there are disadvantages as well. I am not experienced enough to talk about sail shape issues with furling and I will leave that to the more experienced. The only negative that I see with furling, be it in mast or in boom, is that if the system goes wrong, it gets messy real quick.

For God so loved the world..........He didn't send a committee.
Alan Wheeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 03:17   #3

Boat: warwick 44
furling head sails are a pain to change in a hurry, in mast ?
boris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 04:24   #4
CF Adviser
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Island Packet 380, now sold
I have in mast furling, and am very happy with it.

It's served me well in all conditions, up to Force 9 offshore with no failings. I've been able to easily reef in heavy or light winds. No jams. The loose-footed sail maintains a good shape at all reef points. I have no issues with the negative roach. There's a little bit of techique to learn in order to do it right, but it's not difficult nor complicated.