Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-11-2018, 00:57   #1

Hull Shapes and Behaviour in Heavy Seas

Hi All,

I am new to sailing but have a pretty solid engineering background. I am in my late 40's and I have lost the plot and decided to live aboard and do some traveling. I am seriously considering buying this 63" steel ketch and was hoping someone could give advice on the shape of the hull and how it might behave in various conditions. Thanks all for any advice.....

The photos are in my member gallery and I am not sure how to post them to this thread
Metal Boat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2018, 08:11   #2

Re: Hull Shapes and Behaviour in Heavy Seas

That is not a bad looking boat, but unless you have buckets of money, I would advise to start with a much smaller boat. The cost of maintaining a boat that size will eat you alive. Also handling a boat that size without previous experience can be overwhelming. Even if you get up to speed on handling in good conditions, any emergency will be much harder to deal with on a large boat. I dont want to discourage your cruising ideas but I think they are more likely to be successful with a smaller boat. You will get lots of conflicting advice here on CF so in the end, it is your decision. _____Grant.
gjordan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2018, 10:14   #3

Boat: Hylas 49

I agree completely with Grant. I went from a C&C 35 to a Hylas 44. While the cabin space doubled, so did the physical effort to hoist and trim sails. Costs of replacing lines, sails etc. also doubled.
If you are planning to be a coastal cruiser you don't need an offshore boat. If you are planning to circumnavigate, that's a different story!
TheOffice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2018, 10:59   #4