Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-10-2011, 07:45   #1

How Does a Solo Handler Drop the Hook on a Large Sailboat ?

I am fairly new to sailing ~ about two years. I am able to drop the hook on my 28.5 ft. fairly easily; however it does involve running to the bow and hoping that the wind doesn't blow the boat to much before I can get the anchor set.

How do folks on larger boats - 40 -50 foot set their anchor when they are the only one on the boat?? Also, how do they pull up the anchor when its time to go?? Seems like it would be very difficult to me for one person to do it all....
lake norman 285 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 07:52   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: 63 custom alloy sloop,macwester26,prout snowgoose 37 elite catamaran!
Re: How does a solo handler drop the hook on a large sailboat

same way you would on a smaller boat.
though would probably have the engine in neutral and an electric windlass.
atoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 07:52   #3

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Location: We're technically refugees from our home in Yemen now living in Lebenon
Boat: 1978 CT48

I have an electric windless and controls at the helm...its easy like that.
I'm not thinking you'll find many 50fters with out a power windless of some description since the combination of anchor and road (min 3/8in chain) is HEAVY!
James S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 08:02   #4

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Endeavour 35, 1984,

Quote:
Originally Posted by James S View Post
same here
Old 06-10-2011, 08:20   #5