Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-09-2010, 08:17   #1

Hello from Newbie, 55' Samson Ketch

Hi, we are new to this forum but are interested in buying a 55 ft samson ketch.
I have read a lot on this forum but it takes time to digest all the information and then apply it to a boat as each one is can be seen as an individual with it own advantages and problems.
Nevertheless thank you for all the information you all made available to us.

This Boat is on e-bay for $80000 and needs work.
For the next couple of years we want to live aboard, sail some. the summer back to our residence in State College PA.
I am a mechanical / electronical engineer in the aircraft industrie and am confident that I can accomplish the technical part.
I have read a lot on this forum and it is difficult to oversee the effects of hull thickness, weight, stability, strength ans so on and apply this information for a newbie like me.
Can anybody help me with information / history about this ship. Has anybody seen it, nows how it sails or has experience / knowledge of the ferralite construction method applied?

I would thank you for your help and hope that we will meet somewhere or at least on this forum.

later J
Joeblack5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 08:40   #2
CF Adviser
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Welcome to the Forum, Joe. I don't know anything about the specific vessel you're interested in, but I note from the eBay listing that it's in St. James City, Pine Island, Florida. One of our members, amarinesurveyor, is located in Jupiter, FL and he has something in common with you . . . Brian is a Penn State grad, so you're almost neighbors.

Here's a link to Brian's website: