Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-09-2010, 12:31   #1

Going to Charter a Monohull - Finally

I have been chartering catamarans around the world for 10 years now and really love them. They are fast and stable, roomy and have less than 3 ft of draft. When you turn in for the night it is like you have a boat all to yourself as you are in one hull seperated from the other by 15+ feet. I am sure that some of you will be horrified to hear that I have never even set foot on a monohull. But I am curious as to why people rent or buy anything but cats. I am tempted to charter a monohull just to see what all the fuss is about. Is there any advantages to monohull over multihull?
luv2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 12:35   #2

Here we go again....
nettlesbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 12:48   #3

Boat: Shuttlecat 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by luv2 View Post
Is there any advantages to monohull over multihull?
Simple answer, yes.

In reality it is much more complex and has been debated endlessly. Search the forums . . .
Old 09-09-2010, 12:58   #4

Boat: San Juan 28
There should be a script running on the server that auto-deletes any thread that has "cat" and "mono" in the title.
Arch Stanton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 13:18   #5

I have searched.