Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-09-2007, 07:23   #1

Finish a partly completed steel cruising boat?

Is this a feasible or even worthwhile project if the hull is solid? In two months? Or two years? I'm a fair carpenter and I can finish the interior out. I can finish out the wiring and plumbing and have it inspected. But there's the prop shaft, rudder, steering cables to install, holes to drill and tap, brackets to fasten. Electrical and plumbing to go over and check for problems, diagram if needed. Hire riggers to step mast and run rigging? Looks to be no problem finding the parts and services where she's at. West Marine is right near by, boat yards and suppliers abound, but is this a better idea than simply outfitting an older fiberglass boat?

No, I'm not changing my plans; just asking.

YachtWorld.com Boats and Yachts for Sale
“There's no thrill in easy sailing when the skies are clear and blue, there's no joy in merely doing things which any one can do. But there is some satisfaction that is mighty sweet to take, when you reach a destination that you never thought you'd make”

Unknown
cjbeals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2007, 07:55   #2
Building a Bateau TW28

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Bateau TW28 Long Cabin
Friends of ours built a similar BR in steel just over 20 yrs ago. It's a nice boat for sure. Nice layout and accommodations below. The aft cabin with full size berth is nice and roomy.