Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-07-2015, 14:50   #1

Boat: Bristol 27
Ericson 35 Mk III

Is there anyone that can give me first hand knowledge of this boat? There is one nearby I'm thinking of buying.

I raced sailboats for 15 years or so but, I'm not so much into racing these days. I would just like a bit more performance though and a decently built faster boat.

First long cruise would most probably be on the Bristol though for any beginner cruiser or small full keel monohull guy reading this.

The Bristol draws 4' ...... the Ericson 6'2" and I'm a beginner cruiser but long time sailor/boating guy

I would just enjoy the speed while cruising/ day sailing in the the bay
thomm225 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2015, 15:02   #2

Boat: Creekmore 36
Re: Ericson 35 Mk III

I raced one for a few years. Great boat for whatever you want to do.
tfrank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2015, 15:17   #3

I have owned an E35-III for many years. It was and is a quality boat. The biggest issue you need to look for when purchasing is possible grid cracking under the mast step and water penetration in the decks (soft spots). My boat had a cracked grid and I have heard of others. It is repair that most yards can do effectively. It sails well!

As always with a boat of this age, rigging and systems should all be examined closely.

If you have specific questions please PM me.

Matt
Wind Chaser E35-3 #187
mmlogan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2015, 15:20   #4

Thanks.

Here is the boat and if you look at the cabin sole there is some discoloration ...........

Otherwise it is loaded with new sails etc but an old engine.

1984 Ericson 35 Mk III Sail Boat For Sale - www.yachtworld.com
Old 15-07-2015, 15:39   #5

Thomm,