Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-07-2013, 09:37   #1

Boat: 2002 Bavaria 40
Epoxy or replace throughull?

I'm replacing my head with a compostable one. I currently have a salt-water intake throughull for the current head and will need to either epoxy it off or replace the throughull and cap it. What are the recommendations out there? I've never done this before.... It is an old gate-valve by the way.
sailprincess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2013, 09:40   #2

Boat: 40' Northstar 80/20
Personally? I'd remove the thru-hull, grind the area and then glass it and put some fresh gelcoat on.
Old 29-07-2013, 10:11   #3

Boat: Luders 33 - hull 23
Re: Epoxy or replace throughull?

Replace the gate valve with a proper seacock, much easier than glassing the hole. Unless you have about a foot all around the opening so that you can grind it prior to glassing. Take a look at the West System instructions:

WEST SYSTEM | Projects | Fiberglass Boat Repair & Restoration - Repairing machined holes in fiberglass

Not hard, but are you confident you can tackle this?
SVTatia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2013, 10:18   #4

Boat: Albin 40 double cabin Trawler

Either way is OK...if you might need the through hull later...say for a salt water washdown or air conditioner, etc...then an unused through hull is perfectly acceptable. Many people still attach a plugged piece of hose to it that reaches to the waterline...just in case...but others consider that overkill.