Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-05-2012, 02:12   #1

Boat: Achilles 24
Crossatlantic in Achilles 24

Hi guys,
I'm quite new in sailing and on this forum too. My story is short: never sailed before, did a competent crew in Oct and bought Achilles 24. The only one dream is to cross the Atlantic in solo. Eh, next year.

My learning is very fast: I can already leave my mooring and pick up the buoy when back

Jokes apart, do someone think it's is possible to crossatlantic in Achilles 24 fine keel?

Thanks for your toughs, I will make my boat ready for the next Sept.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	7070303073_ca85da0fc4_o.jpg
Views:	2720
Size:	213.6 KB
ID:	40617  
Balthazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 02:18   #2
Ram

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Cat in the med & Trawler in Florida
Re: Crossatlantic in Achilles 24

Even a coke bottle with a cork can cross the Atlantic- seems you might learn a little more before you start out? ANd ask yourself why you want to do this?
Ram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 02:43   #3

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Moody 31

I concur with Ram, why do you want to cross the Atlantic? to answer your question, yes with care and preparation it could be done. However, as a start point I would spend the summer practising by sailing to Holland and back a few times. Nice place to visit by yacht and the North Sea will give some interesting challenging conditions.

The problem however, is how to keep watch on a longer voyage which will be needed in the North Sea, without becoming so exhausted that you are a risk.