Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-01-2010, 08:46   #1

Cooling the Cabin of a Sailboat

Hi everyone!

I am a mechanical engineering student at Georgia Tech and am currently working on a project that involves providing a better cooling for a sailboat cabin. First off, is there even an issue with the current systems that are implemented in cabin cooling? Such as, does it use too much electricity or gas or is not very effective? I am basically trying to see if there would even be a demand for such a project before I get too involved in it.

I would appreciate any comments about cabin cooling.

Thanks,
Sara
srdrzdwsk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2010, 09:17   #2

Boat: Irwin 40
Not to sound like an ass, but as one engineer to a student I have to say that if you are trying to solve a problem you must first understand the problem. Asking questions is fine, but spending a summer in a sailboat is better. You learn so much more by being there.

I hope you get some good info here but it will never replace getting out there, remember that as a engineer, get out of the office and on the shop floor, use what you are trying to design and always ask more questions. And understand the problem fully before even starting to try to solve it.

Good Luck
sailvayu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2010, 09:20   #3

Boat: Island Packet, 35, - Serendipity
Sara,

Most sailboats use 1 of three methods to cool the cabin. Listed in order of increasing complexity the are:
1 - Open hatches / ports to allow breeze in